Election Chaos in Pakistan

Pakistan elections

Islamabad: The Election Commission of Pakistan has released the final results of the parliamentary elections. Independents who support former Prime Minister Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf party are leading by winning 101 seats. Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) has 75 seats.

The Pakistan People’s Party, led by former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto’s son Bilawal Bhutto, emerged as the dominant force with 54 seats. Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan has 17 seats. All the other small parties got 12 seats. No party could reach the absolute majority of 133. Elections to 264 constituencies in the 266-member parliament were held on February 8. The election in two constituencies was postponed due to the death of the candidate. Nawaz Sharif and Bilawal are trying to form an alliance. The move is to form a coalition government with Muttahida Qaumi Movement.

Meanwhile, Imran’s PTI party has come forward accusing him of rigging the election results. They claim that they have won 170 seats. PTI and smaller parties have started street protests alleging subversion. PTI ranks and police clashed at many places. Imran’s party has made surprising progress despite trying to contain its leaders by jailing them and denying them their symbol. The provincial assembly election results have also been released. Independents won 138 out of 296 seats in Punjab. PML(N) won 137 seats and other parties 21 seats. The results of 129 out of 130 seats in Sindh have been released.

One seat will be re-elected. PPP won 84 seats, MQM 28 and PTI independents won 14 seats. The results of 112 out of 113 seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa have been declared. PTI independents have 89 seats, PML(N) 5 and others 5. In Balochistan, PPP won 11 seats, PML(N) 9, PTI Independents 5, JUIF 8 and others 11 seats each. There is also uncertainty in the formation of the provincial government.

Flood of complaints in court

Islamabad: Flood of election-related complaints in Pakistan’s courts. Hundreds of petitions have been submitted by the losing candidates and parties in the elections to the Parliament and Provincial Legislatures. Most of them belong to pro-PTI independents. Former Punjab Chief Minister Parvesh Erahi, Former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Finance Minister Taimur Jagra, Former Speaker Mahmood Jan, Former Punjab Health Minister Dr. Prominent people like Yasmin Rashid have filed a petition. There are widespread allegations that the election was rigged. It was announced that the results of the election held on Thursday would be released by Friday morning, but it was completed only on Sunday.